Quick Updates

A few people have asked me why I haven’t written much since I’ve gotten home and the simple answer is that I haven’t had much to write about. I’ve had a wonderfully slow transition back into “real life” and I’ve loved it. For those of you who might care, here are a few highlights and thoughts from the last two months of my life.

  • After brief stints in Colorado and Utah, I went to Cincinnati to stay with my sister and her family since I had an awkward break of time in between getting home from the mission and starting school again.
  • Six years and half a college education later, I ended back up at my high school job (only this time in a different state), working in the Childwatch at the YMCA. It was great since it was a job that I could find for just two months, and it was just a few hours a day, so I could spend the rest of the time doting on my niece and nephews, taking naps, and watching Netflix.
  • I read “The Year of Living Biblically” by AJ Jacobs, “Eats, Shoots, and Leaves” (for about the hundredth time) by Lynne Truss, “The Hiding Place” by Corrie ten Boom, “Deep Thoughts by Jack Handey” by…well, Jack Handey, and started “Brigham Young: Pioneer Prophet” by John G Turner, and “Hammer and Tickle” by Ben Lewis (a book about the history of jokes in Soviet Russia. Could you think of a better book to read?), as well as continued on my goal to read the Bible in Spanish (trying to read Leviticus is like trying to read a brick wall).
  • I’ve discovered that my sister and brother-in-law are perfect parents. Seriously. But now, I am a bit terrified to ever have children. If parenting is hard for perfect parents, I am definitely not cut out for it.
  • My newborn nephew is perfect. He is the most perfect baby to ever be created. He is the most beautiful infant I have ever seen and has the sweetest, most mild temperament and I am head-over-heels in aunt-love with him and his two older siblings.
  • After some hard-fought battles with BYU, they finally agreed to let me come back to school for spring semester instead of fall, so now I have some direction for my life for this summer. I’m trying to decide on my minor and if anyone would like to make that decision for me, I’d be more than happy to leave it up to you. With all luck, I should graduate in December 2014.
  • I’ve enjoyed catching up on TV quite a bit more than I probably should have. I’ve watched two season of Downton Abbey, three and a half seasons of Psych, a season and a half of White Collar, and re-watched almost all five seasons of Alias (that was what Kelly and I would do after the kids went to bed). Hopefully now I have eighteen months of TV watching out of my system and will be an awesome student when I start school next week. That’s how it works, right?Image
  • Cincinnati Zoo
  • Image
  • We had a contest to see who could put on more layers. She won.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Updates

  1. KelliO says:

    Hey, I found you again! I think I’m going to have to find this soviet humor book for Mark. Is it as great as it sounds?

    Like

Leave a Reply

