My Name is Bubblehead!

October 8, 2012

This week was really good, one of the best of my mission. I don’t really know why. It was just great, despite the hard things. Sister L is great. She is happy, enthusiastic, and eager to talk to everyone we meet. We have had a lot of fun together in just this one week.
We have one investigator named P. She and her sister, E, have been meeting with the sisters for just a few weeks. They are both college students and are really fun to teach. They have great questions and seem eager to learn. Apparently they have changed a lot in the short time they have been meeting with the missionaries.
We taught a LOT of Lesson Ones this week. A lot. We pretty much spent our whole time on this one street. Almost everyone on that street is from Puebla, which is maybe my favorite state in Mexico. There were a lot of people who flat out told us no after teaching them lesson one. A lot more set a return appointment, but then weren’t there when we went back. I taught more lessons this week than ever before in my mission, but I don’t know if much of anything came from them.
We met a lady in the elevator this week. She looked at us and said, “I like your little nametags.” I said, “Thanks. We like them, too.” (P.S. I am SO AWKWARD as a missionary. This week was also the most awkward week ever. Every moment was incredibly awkward. The good thing is, I’ve gotten used to it a bit more, after being a missionary for this long. But still, there are so many awkward moments. No one is going to want to be around me when I get back because I am so painfully awkward. Just a little heads up…) She looked at us for another minute then said, “I know angels when I see them,” and got off the elevator.
We gave some Mormon.org cards to come kids on the street this week. They thought we were so cool and funny (I don’t really know why). One kid, probably about 10 or 11, told me his name was Bubblehead. Now whenever we see him on the street he yells, “My name is Bubblehead!” and thinks it’s really funny. Which it kind of is.
Conference was great, as always. There’s going to be SO MANY more missionaries, especially sister missionaries, now that the age is lowered. Mom, I agree with you. I think it should be emphasized that you CAN go earlier, but you don’t have to. It’s much better to wait and be really mentally and spiritually prepared than to go as soon as you turn 18 or 19, just because you can, or feel like you are supposed to.
One of my favorite talks, surprisingly, was Elder Scott’s. Mostly because he said that the best way to eliminate the influence of Satan in your life was to do family history (or something along those lines). That is a REALLY bold promise. I don’t really have too much interest in family history, but I think I will definitely be more involved in it after the mission, with a promise like that. It’s so hard to absorb everything that is said in conference because it’s all just one right after another, so I am excited for the Ensign to reread all the talks. Like always, I heard so many things I needed to hear at conference.

That’s the best.
I love you. Les amo.
Con amor,
Jess

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

