“Every time I was going to have a little sister, it came out a man.”

Oct 15, 2012

Hola, Familia. Les quiero mucho.
Quote of the week: “God, our Heavenly Father, Elohim, lives. That is an absolute truth. All four billion of the children of men on earth might be ignorant of Him and His attributes and His powers, but He still lies, All the people on the earth might deny Him and disbelieve, but He lives in spite of them. They may have their own opinions but He lives and does not change according to men’s opinions. In short, opinion has no power in the matter of an absolute truth. And Jesus Christ is the Son of God, the Master of the only on true way of life. The intellectual may rationalize Him out of existence and the unbeliever may scoff, but Christ still lives. That is an absolute truth.” – Spencer W. Kimball
I don’t think I have too much to say this week.
We met this awesome man named J this week. We were knocking and met him. He invited us in, but we said we couldn’t because we didn’t have a woman with us, but that we would come back later (because we had a member coming out with us). We went back about an hour later and he let us in. He said he was so impressed with us that we actually came back (I don’t think he understands how excited we get when someone actually wants us back). We only had time to teach him for about 15 minutes, but it was really good. When we went back a few days later, he accepted a baptismal date and said he’s been “searching for truth” because he’s been disillusioned with a lot of churches he’s seen. We’re really happy about him. He didn’t come to church yesterday because he said he was sick, which I think is legit. But, we’re going to teach him again tonight and hopefully things go as well as they did the first two times.
Thursday it was the birthday of the member who was feeding us (all eight missionaries in the ward) dinner, so we decided to throw her a party. When she went into the kitchen, we put on party hats and got out those blower things that make noise and surprised her when she came back. Then we proceeded to sing her the possibly the worst rendition of “You’ve Had A Birthday, Shout Hooray”. It was really funny. I was going to send you pictures, but I don’t know where I put my camera cord.
Saturday afternoon a member when with us to visit a man we had met on the street a few days earlier and had only talked to for a few minutes. We knocked on the door and he answered and said, “I have something I need to talk to you about,” and led us out to the front of the complex. I was pretty terrified. I tried to think of anything potentially offensive that we might have said to him when we first met him. He said, “I’ve been to your church before, and you’re all rich. I’m not rich. I can’t go to your church. I’m sorry.”

I didn’t really know what to say, but thankfully the member took it from there. I don’t even remember much of what happened in that conversation. She pretty much took care of it all. It was kind of funny, though, because she (the member) teared up a bit and the man, F, kind of freaked out. “Por favor, senora, no llore!” He was begging her to stop crying. He was so uncomfortable with tears, which is funny because he has two teenaged daughters. Anyway, he told us about some of the family problems he is having and I hurt for him. I wanted to yell to him, “The gospel will help you! This is the only thing that will help you! Please, don’t reject it before you even hear it!” We ended up bearing our testimonies and giving him a copy of the Book of Mormon and inviting him to try church again, which he said he would. He said, ” I would really like to come to your church. I would really like to have friends like you.” We left feeling pretty good about it all, but then he didn’t come to church yesterday. I’m going to give him the benefit of the doubt and go see him again this week and hope he doesn’t yell at us again.
Saturday night we taught this couple that wouldn’t accept a copy of the Book of Mormon because they said they print was too small, then showed us their “large print” Bible, with writing significantly smaller than in the BOM. “See! See how big the print is? We can’t see the letters in your little tiny book.”
Yesterday was my first day in this ward. I spent the whole time asking Hna L who everyone is. We also had a really intense correlation meeting with our ward mission leader. We also had one of the most enormous meals I’ve ever had on my mission (which is really saying something) with a couple from Ecuador. It was really good. Also, they might be my favorite members here. They are awesome and are always willing to come out with us.
Funny things my companion has said this week:
“I wish we had unlimited miles. Then we could drive to Hawaii.”
“Is that a body in the middle of the road?” (It was a bag of chips)
On being the only daughter in her family: “Every time I was going to have a little sister, it came out a man.”
So, that was my week. I love you!
Con amor,
Jess

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

