Ana-Crime

July 16, 2012
Querida Familia,
Since ya’ll probably don’t love Garden Grove as much as I do, you’ll probably enjoy hearing about somewhere else for a while, right? Anaheim in really great. Everyone talks about how ghetto it is and calls it Ana-crime (I’m pretty sure a 4 year old made that up). Now that I’m here, I have no idea where any of that came from. It’s so nice here, especially around Disneyland (which is in my area. Cool, right? Not cool when you try to find a parking spot within 4 blocks of it). It’s full of old houses, like in Old Town Lafayette. There’s lots of trees. There’s lots of Mexicans. It’s awesome. The mission home is also really close to the house which means we get to see the Bowens more which is about the best thing that could happen to me.
Preach My Gospel tells you to “look for clues” around houses, etc., to see what kind of people live there. We’ve realized that bouncy houses always mean Spanish speakers. I swear, every hispanic family has a bouncy house and you can drive down a street and see 5 of them.
Also, it’s been SO hot this week. I want to melt. The people that live here always brag about how great their weather is and how we will want to come back to live there because we will have fallen in love with it. No so. Heat is the devil. I love my mission, but especially after this week, I am looking forward to a loooong winter full of snow and ice.
Hna S is the BEST. She is the best missionary of all time. This transfer is going to be great. This week has been the most productive of my entire mission. She’s such a hard worker, motivated, obedient, enthusiastic, and so charitable. Hopefully, some of that will rub off on me.
We have some good investigators here. R is a 25 year old mom who just went through a divorce and has a brother and mom that got baptized about a year and a half ago. Her little boy, E, is REALLY cute. Like, really cute. He’s 2 and he call us “mana” because he can’t say “hermana.” She’s really nice and sincere and progressing well.
We also have J, a lady from El Salvador who lives half of the year here with her daughter and grandkids and half in El Salvador with her husband. She wants to get baptized, but she wants to get her husband’s permission first. She is leaving next week and won’t be back until January. She wants to get baptized here in January when she gets back, but we are trying to explain to her that the church is the same in El Salvador and she should get baptized there. Sad that she’s leaving, but she’s making pupusas for us before she goes. Can’t complain about that.
We also have M, another young mom of 4. She’s going through a messy divorce and is here staying with her husband’s cousin (don’t ask me why) and her family, who are really awesome recent converts. We went to go teach them the other day and she was there so we taught her instead. She’s really interested and we are excited about her.
The district is great. It’s me and Hna S, 2 elders from my MTC district (one who was in Garden Grove with me, too. We’ve spent all of our mission except one transfer in the same district), and their 2 companions, who are also really great. It’s nice to have a district that you like since, being in the same ward, you see them all the time.
Church was good yesterday. A few people already knew who I was because they had friends in Garden Grove who told them I was coming and to take care of me. Ah, Garden Grove. The ward seems pretty good and I’m excited to get to the point where I feel like I know most of them.
Last night we went to follow up on a potential from Peru. Her name is C and she’s great. It was probably the best Lesson One I’ve ever had (mostly because Hna S did most of the talking). She’s really sincere and interested and from Peru, which is cool.
So, there’s the run-down on everyone here. The Sunday School President looks like Carlton from Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. It might even be him.
I hope this was entertaining enough for you all. Love you mucho.
Hna Poulson
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

