“Oh the Barnyard is Busy, in a Regular Tizzy…

April 16, 2012

…and the obvious reason is because of the season” (Name that movie). That probably came to my head, because there are roosters outside of the library that are crowing right now. Why there are roosters and flocks of chickens at a suburban library, I don’t know.

First of all, to my parents, Happy Engagement Anniversary! I’m glad that you got engaged. And then that you got married.

To Maren, Dad, Daniel, and Raymey: Send me stories about your missions. I want to hear more about the things you did and all that.

Transfers are today and I am going to Garden Grove 10! Still. I love it. By the end of this transfer, I will have 7 months in Garden Grove 10 and be at my half-way point on the mission. Isn’t that the most disgusting thing you’ve ever heard? I’m so excited to stay here at least another transfer, maybe more. President likes to keep the sisters in the same place for a looong time. And I’m completely de acuerdo with that, if it means I stay here. We told our English class that transfers were this week so I might not be there next time and they were really sad. Then one of our students gave us homemade mole because last time I said I really liked it. They are so nice. Now they just need to get baptized. Also, there were 3 or 4 ward members that when they heard that transfers were coming, immediately asked me if I was staying or not because they were afraid I would leave. Not going to lie, it’s nice to be wanted in a ward. Okay, now I will stop stroking my pride.

Spanish is actually coming along decently well now. When you can’t hide behind your companion, you have to speak a lot more. I still want to battle it out with the subjunctive sometimes, but since I can’t punch a grammar principle in the face, I just keep studying and practicing. Probably more effective, but less satisfying.

A lady from the English ward who is Honduranian gave us a bunch of referrals this week. She is the manager of an apartment complex and told us which numbers to go visit. So far we’ve gotten yelled at by a Jehovah’s Witness, and had several others send their kids to the doors to tell us they’re not home. But we still have more to go visit and I think we will be able to find a couple of good people from it.

We went to the temple on Wednesday. That’s always great. We went to a park near the library that has every kind of bird ever and watched the swans duke it out with the geese. Then we chased turtles into the water (as in, as soon as you got too near to them, they would jump into the pond. But not really jump because, you know, they are turtles). It was a nice reminder that nature still exists and there is more to the world that apartment complexes and tire stores. I always thought it was funny that Colorado has preserved open spaces that were essentially fields full of weeds, but now I think I kind of appreciate it.

E has dropped off the face of the earth. I want to cry. But then again, it’s good she’s not getting baptized if she’s not ready.

That’s pretty much it. I love you all. Thanks for the letters. I wouldn’t be opposed to more you know, if you want to send them.

Con amor,

Hna Poulson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

