Hola!

October 6, 2011

First orders of business: Why did I not get an email from my mom this week? (She did– it was lost in cyberspace…)

Also, who called that they were going to make the Provo Tabernacle into a temple? ME!!!!! Yeah, I did. As soon as it burnt I thought, they’ll make that into a temple. And I was right. That’s enough bragging for today, yes?

Dad, I whistle all the time here. I thank/credit you for that. I have strangers come up to me all the time and tell me what a good whistler I am. Thanks for starting me out at a tender age. Now I can whistle like it’s nobody’s business. Nobody’s. This keyboard is weird and I don’t know why it is putting ” when I want an apostrophe.

Thanks for all the letters. Thanks for the card, Mom and Dad. Also, if you have Audrey’s address can you send it to me? Maybe through DearElder so I can get it sooner? Also, if you feel inclined to send me a package, could it include a sweatshirt? It just got COLD here. Like all of a sudden. I didn’t bring any warm clothes because I didn’t think I would need them in southern CA but I need it here. Before my arms fall off from freeze.

Conference was great, no? I was unrighteously dreading sitting in a gym with my 3,000 closest missionaries in our Sunday best to listen to conference, but it wasn’t as bad as I was expecting. It stops you from falling asleep. It was a great conference. I love Elder Uchtdorf’s talk in the RS session. Always love Elder Uchtdorf. And Pres Eyring and Pres Monson. I can’t type on this computer. Please forgive me. And Devn Cornish. I liked his too, despite how he spells his name.

We had our one month anniversary this weekend. Half way, officially. Weird. Good, Weird.

The MTC is making me fat. Seriously. Not only do I only sit in a classroom for 10 hours a day, but the food is not the best. I mean, it tastes all right, but it’s not particularly healthy. It’s like eating fast food every day for a month. I eat 2-3 tomatoes worth of sliced tomatoes with every meal and my district thinks I am crazy, but it makes me feel like I am not clogging my arteries quite as quickly that way.

This letter is sounding negative and grumpy. I am sorry. It’s probably because my shoes are soaked through and no one likes wet feet. I am repenting. This letter is also pretty scatterbrained. Sorry. Also, I did something funky to my knee this week and I haven’t been able to straighten it for the last 3 days. That’s probably not normal. I am just waiting for it to go away, but my companions are really worried about it. They are so nice to me. I like them.

Maren, sorry if I have asked you this before, but what is that como-como thing you used to say in Guatemala? I am getting my hair cut today. Remember when I said I wasn’t going to cut it until I got home and I as going to have long beautiful flowing Disney princess hair? I give up. I don’t have the time or motivation to deal with it so I am cutting it today. And I’m not going to feel guilty about it. That’s what I am telling myself. I am a little nervous to have it cut by the people at BYU because I have only heard the elders say terrible things about their haircuts, but I’m not too picky with my hair, so it should be okay.

I don’t really know what else to tell you. Please send letters. Everyone. I get about one a week. It’s really sad. It’s not fun to think that you’ve left and everyone has forgotten that you ever existed. I existed. I still exist. I promise.

I am happy. I love it here. Spanish will come. I hope. Oh! Our really, really tough investigator, Samuel, finally agreed to be baptized and set a date. That’s really exciting. We’ve been struggling with him.

The talk in conference about family history made me miss indexing. That was my favorite thing to do at work. Make sure there are still some names in the church libraries for me to index in 18 months, okay?

I love you all. I really do. My feet are wet and I am a little bit hungry. That’s probably why I am not making sense and sounding ornery…

Mom, did you get my package? Were those skirts salvageable? Because now I only have 5 skirts- 2 grey, 2 black, and a pink. I love you!

Jesslyn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

