Ye Elder of Israel

September 29, 2011

First off, there is an elder on my floor that looks just like Mr. Incredible. It’s incredible. I don’t know if I told you this before, but I am telling you again. It’s ridiculous. I am trying to figure out the least weird way to approach him and say “You look like a cartoon character. Can I take your picture?” I’ll keep you updated.

I did NOT want to ever do role plays because I hated them and thought they were useless and fake. But role-playing is all we do in the MTC…and I actually like it now. It’s much more effective and helpful than I thought it would be. So, there’s your update, Mom.

Also, I am sending a package home. I think you will like some of it…and not like some of it. I’ll let you be surprised.

Also, my companion is sending you (Mom and Dad) a letter. I don’t know what it contains. Let me know. She won’t let me read it. If she says I am sacreligious and a terrible missionary, don’t believe her. Or maybe you should. I don’t know.

M, one upon a time, you told me that only weird missionaries play 4-square. Am I a weird missionary? I mean, I kind of agree, but I can only take so much eliptical, and I’ve had to fight tooth and nail to round up people to play volleyball.

I think I am operating under the incorrect assumption that English speaking missions are easy. Every time I teach, I think, “Ugh! I could so answer this/ teach this/ do something in this situation if I were only speaking English. So I think that English speaking missionaries must be much, much, MUCH better missionaries because they get to learn how to teach lessons well, while I just try to survive them. Interesting thoughts.

Kyle H came this week and I see him all the time. I told him to stop following me. He said to stop following him. He also said hi to Dan. I think.

I’ve realized, I’ve begun to forget the names of people I knew before the mission. The MTC is all about playing “Do you know so-and-so?” and whenever I try to remember someone’s name, I can’t remember. Even though I knew them well and was good friends with them. I think my brain can only handle remembering so many things, so if I put Spanish into it, something else has to leave. In which case, it’s probably good that I can’t remember people’s names because it means the Spanish is sticking. I think.

We did sealings this morning in the temple for the first time. It was neat. I couldn’t help thinking how happy I would be if I had been waiting for who knows how long to finally be sealed to my family. The other ordinances are important and good, but I couldn’t help feeling the joy those people would feel to know that they were finally an eternal family. So, thanks, Mom and Dad, for making us an eternal family. I think you are great.

We have 2 investigators right now, Samuel and Marcos. Samuel makes me cry. Always. He’s a tough nut to crack. Mostly a nut though. We’ve taught him 5 times and still have yet to get through the first lesson. But he is reading the Book of Mormon and praying about it now. He asked us the other day why only men get the priesthood (he was baptized by a “prophetess” in Mexico). I think we handled it okay. I asked my teacher later what we should have said, and he wouldn’t tell us. So, if anyone has suggestions, I’m willing to hear them.

Marcos was really easy at first. He accepted everything we said, but last lesson, he said he wanted to stop meeting with us because his girlfriend didn’t like the church. We asked him to pray about it, and I shared a personal experience, and he felt better by the end of the lesson. It was such a good lesson, not because of anything I or we said or did though. It was all the Spirit.

In our lesson with Samuel the day before that, I had ignored a prompting and the lesson went badly because of it. But as Marcos was telling us about his girlfriend and why he didn’t want to meet with us anymore, I said a prayer in my heart that I would know what to tell him, what to say, what he needed to hear, because I of myself would not know what was in his heart and what would help him. I felt like I should tell a story, and even though I have never been in a situation like his, I felt like I was able to share one that applied to him. It’s amazing the miracles that happen when you teach my the Spirit. Do I sound like a missionary yet?

There’s probably more I want to say that I will remember later. I love you so much! Keep the letters coming. I love those. Remember, they are the currency of cool!

Con amor,

Hna. Poulson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

