“Sisters, Sisters, there were never such devoted sisters!”

September 9, 2011

Hola! I cannot speak Spanish! Still! Woo hoo! Also, good job on emails this week. I had 4 which made me pridefully happy. I thought I would be the most popular missionary in my district, what with all those envelopes I addressed, but the elders have put me to shame. I just want to feel loved! But I know I am. So, thanks. Also, DearElder.com is a great way to write me because I don’t have a lot of time to read emails, but DearElder has the convenience of email for you but a nice printed letter for me!

This week has been great. Missionary life is so up and down. I am happy then sad then excited then discouraged then tired. It’s quite the mix of emotions. I am trying so hard with Spanish but I’m not getting anywhere with it. Despite that though, yesterday we invited our investigator, Dario, to be baptized and he said Yes! So, he must have felt really sorry for me and my pathetic Spanish. I know he is just a teacher that is pretending, but I still get so stressed out that if I don’t do a good enough job teaching, he won’t feel the Spirit and want to be baptized. I just want to help him. If I love my fake investigators this much, I don’t even know how there will possibly be enough room in my heart to love my real ones.

I don’t really know what to write to you about. Every day is much the same. Reading, class, eating, reading, class, eating, meetings, etc. I am ALWAYS seeing people I know. I ran into Zane H. a couple of days ago. He is a teacher here now. I also just saw Bekah W. at lunch and she is doing great. And I saw Maddie O’s cousin who I met at Girl’s Camp who knows how long ago. I am surprised she remembered me. Maren, I was studying outside yesterday and a teacher was meeting with some of his missionaries at the table next to us. I saw him keep looking over at me and I couldn’t figure out why. When he left, he came up to us and asked me if I had a sister named Maren. His name is Matt B. and he said he served with you. Also, Julia C. works here and I am friends with her through Lissy and she said she was in your ward. She tried to figure out why you seemed so familiar when she met you and then she realized we were sisters and that’s why.

We can’t listen to music in the MTC so I do my own singing. Hna B. says she likes it, but I wouldn’t blame her if I was driving her crazy. The main songs for this week have been from “Fiddler on the Roof”, “White Christmas”, and most of all “Saturday’s Warrior”. Whoever loves me best will somehow find a way to get that soundtrack and then mail it to me. I love it. But I can’t remember a lot of the words. Except for “Humble Way”. We sing that a lot. Especially the part about “slicing wicked men asunder.” We ARE something of a wonder.

We went to the temple today which was great. I, of course, saw people from my old ward that are temple workers. I think that is the hardest thing about the MTC sometimes. I love it, but I see people I know that are teachers and see them leave and know they are going back to BYU and I’m not, and I hear the bell tower and it makes me nostalgic. The MTC would be better if it weren’t in Provo.

I don’t know what else to say and I want to see if I can read my emails before I run out of time. I love you all!

Hna. Poulson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

