No One Likes Me, Everybody Hates Me

Appellant: I have a citation I need waived.
Me: This citation is from June. Tickets need to be appealed within 14 days of the issue date.
Appellant: Well, I shouldn’t have gotten this ticket. I was parked in a lot that wasn’t supposed to be enforced during summer.
Me: All lots are still enforced during the summer, the rules just change a bit. Your car still needs to be registered.
Appellant: My car was registered, I had just gotten a new license plate and hadn’t updated the new one.
Me: So, your car wasn’t registered with the current plate.
Appellant: So, are you going to tell me that you are going to charge me $30 and not let me appeal even though I WAS registered and I shouldn’t have gotten a ticket for parking there?
Me: . . . uh, I guess that’s what I am telling you.
Appellant: I hate you.

10 minutes later the phone rings.

Appellant: I am trying to appeal this ticket online but I don’t want to give out my Social Security number.
Me: Just so you know, we are a state-certified police department and all our records are handled safely and confidentially.
Appellant: No. I don’t want to do that. I want you to void this over the phone now.
Me: I’m sorry. We don’t do over-the-phone appeals. We have to have a paper trail of our transactions. You can do the appeal online or come into our office.
Appellant: NO. I won’t do either of those. I need to you to void this for me now.
Me: If you don’t feel comfortable giving out your SSN, you can email us the appeal and include your Driver’s License number instead.
[It should be noted, I only set up this email address for appellants like this who refused to give their SSN. As a rule, we don’t do emails, but I was trying to help and accommodate her even though I could have just said “Tough luck. Those are your options.”]
Appellant: You are NOT making this very easy for me. Hold on. [speaking to someone in the room with her] This girl is an a**hole. I can’t believe what a b**ch she is. [speaking to me again] Fine. I’ll put in my SSN, but I want you to know I was NOT pleased with your service.
Me: I’m sorry. Have a good day!

It’s days like these when 18 months of doors slamming in my face and dogs chasing me sound downright pleasant.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No One Likes Me, Everybody Hates Me

  1. C. says:

    Charming people. Really lovely.

    Plus side, you are going to make an EXCELLENT missionary. When a door is slammed and your companion bursts into tears, “Suck it up, sister, we’ve got work to do!”

    Like

  2. Donny says:

    I was both of those people at one point. Only I was nice and humble and had the citations reduced or dismissed. Holla!

    Like

  3. Rachel Dell says:

    wow, some days i am just so envious of your job. people are really so very classy aren’t they?

    Like

Leave a Reply

