Ms. Daisy

I am the baby in my family, on the tail end of birthdays in my grade, and live in a ward and with roommates who are older than me. Everyone always seems to like to point out my lack of age.

However, I think I am an old person in a young body. Here’s why:

  1. I love beets. Isn’t that a food you think of when you think of grandparents?
  2. I eat dinner at 5 pm.
  3. I go to bed at nine. I would go earlier if I thought I could get away with it.
  4. Daily naps? Check. I can’t even stay awake through a movie.
  5. I like to quilt and journal.
  6. I can’t work my way around a computer to save my life.
  7. Sometimes I leave the house and realize my shoes or earrings or mittens don’t match.
  8. I’ve been told (on multiple occasions, mind you) that I chew like a grandmother.
  9. I am obsessed with my niece and nephew like old people are obsessed with their grandchildren. I think I manage to tell Pokie a story about Ella and Baby at least every day.
  10. Quite often, I get halfway through a sentence and forget where it was going. I don’t think I am very much fun to talk to because I usually don’t know what is going on.
  11. I think old men are the cutest.
  12. I think I need a hearing aid. If I had a dime for every time I say “WHAT?!” in a day, I would be rolling in the monies.
  13. I see teenagers and think, “Kids these days….” or “Oh, no! Youths!”
  14. Reading small print gives me a headache.
  15. I say things out loud without realizing that other people can hear me.
  16. I have a basket of old, stale candy at my apartment that I give to people to eat when they come over (the candy; not the basket).
  17. I love shows like Jeopardy and anything on PBS.
  18. I secretly like pants that come up to my belly button. I wish suspenders would come back in style.
  19. My favorite movies are ones made before 1965.

Funny Old Folks

[I think I was born an old lady.]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

