Mr. Sandman

This shall be a post like unto yesterday’s, but more pointless.

Today, my alarm went off at 5:45 am. I crossed my bedroom to turn it off, and thought, “Nope. No way. I’m not doing it today. My bed is much too warm and my eyes are much too closed to go workout this morning. Not gonna happen.”

I promptly returned to my bed and pulled a blanket over my head. And then the mental battle with myself began.

“You’ll feel soooooo guilty later if you don’t get up and go exercise. And you know how much you hate guilt.”

“Yes, but I don’t hate guilt as much as I adore sleep. There is nothing more beautiful in this world than a cocoon of blankets and an unconscious Jesslyn.”

“So, you’ll sleep for an extra hour and what will you have to show for it? I’ll tell you. NOTHING. Nothing at all. How’s bouts you  get up off that bed and do something productive with your life.”

“Nah. I’ll be productive later. It’s better this way.”

“But remember how you felt yesterday? You stayed awake the whole day. You didn’t even take a nap. Not even a little one.”

“Yes, but remember that killer headache you got halfway through your four hour class? I think a little extra sleep would definitely prevent that.”

“Who are you kidding? You get headaches all the time. You get out of that bed right now, young lady. Don’t make me pull out the guilt.”

“Fine. Fine. You win. But I am taking a nap this afternoon. Just  you try to stop me.”

“We’ll see…”

So, I reluctantly got out of bed, put some tennis shoes on (I’m not even entirely sure they matched) and went. The parking gods graced me with a spot right next to the building. Good things come to those who wake.

[Just swap out “Cats” to “Jesslyn” in that caption]

 

 

 

 

P.S. Bookbinding’s a go. I couldn’t be more thrilled!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mr. Sandman

  1. Mama San says:

    I’m proud of you– and I think the sleep gene came from me! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

