Nix these X-mas Carols

I love Christmas music and look forward all year to listening to it. However, there are a few Christmas songs that make me sicker than last year’s eggnog.

Baby’s First Christmas: It’s a fairly obscure song, but thank heavens for that. I’ve only ever heard one version, and the woman’s voice is a terrible combination between Liza Minelli and pre-pubescent Michael Jackson. In my family, it’s the song we sing to drive someone crazy.

Do You Hear What I Hear?: A talking wind, a speaking sheep, a voice as big as the sea? No, thanks.

Where Are You Christmas?: Faith Hill + a Jim Carey movie + an awful remake of a beloved children’s movie = recipe for disaster.

Frosty the Snowman: It’s not so much the song as the movie that I dislike, but I can’t hear the song without thinking of a snowman screeching “Happy Birthday!”

I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus: “Oh, what a laugh it would have been/If Daddy had only seen/Mommy kissing Santa Claus last night.” What kind of sick kid thinks it would be funny to see his mom cheating on his dad, even if it wasn’t true. Plus, the fact that the Jackson 5 sings it doesn’t help.

AND, the hands-down, number one, worst Christmas song ever:

The Little Drummer Boy: Maybe it’s the parum-pum-pums, or the rhythmic ox and lambs, but this song makes me want to curl up in a ball and cry for a week. I can’t explain it, but there is something about this song that kills a part of my souls every time I hear it.

Am I the only one that is picky about holiday hymns? Are there songs you dislike?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nix these X-mas Carols

  1. Logan says:

    Although I love ‘Oh Holy Night’ I get so tired of the seemingly infinite incarnations and covers of the song.
    And as long as we’re talking about songs we dislike, ‘Love At Home’, I know, not a Christmas carol, but it had to be said. Just don’t like it.

    Like

  2. Kelli K says:

    Last week the boys and I had an argument about “All I Want for Christmas is You.” Drives me nuts. They loved it. weird.
    I taught my Russian kids Frosty the Snowman. hehe
    I’ll let you know if I come up with any others. 🙂

    Like

  3. Sav says:

    To this already outstanding list, I would like to add “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas”.

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    ok, I too hate Drummer Boy. People only sing it because they feel obligated to. And I hate that song ‘last christmas I gave you my heart’. Why must people sing such horrible songs?

    Like

Leave a Reply

