Not Quite Oscar Worthy

Have you ever watched a strange movie, maybe late at night, and you remember it years later and wonder if it really was as weird or stupid as you remember? Or maybe it was a movie from your childhood you haven’t thought about since you were 5?

I’ve been thinking about some of these obscure movies lately and I decided to look some of them up and share them with you.

The Englishman Who Went Up a Hill But Came Down a Mountain

Let’s be honest, the title doesn’t do much for this movie. I mean, it is intriguing, to say the least, but I think maybe they should have rethought that.

But, the movie really is what the title says. It is about this small village in England at the foot of a mountain. One day, a cartographer comes and declares the mountain too short to be classified as such, naming it a hill. The village is all up ons and decides to make the hill a mountain by carrying dirt up to the top to add height.

Yep, that’s the movie. Papa and I stumbled upon it on a rainy Sunday afternoon. I don’t think we paid too much attention to the plot because we were busy laughing at the title. Yet, I think I kind of want to rent it now.

The Big Man on Campus

This movie is a modern version of the Hunchback of Notre Dame. This caveman type man is found living in the bell tower of a university and falls in love with a co-ed.

This little gem entered my life whilst visiting my grandparents in St. George during Spring Break in middle school. Since we didn’t have cable, Che, Dumples, and I always got excited to watch TV when we visited family. The movie was so bizarre and it was so late that when we woke up the next morning, we weren’t entirely sure we hadn’t just dreamed it. Our favorite quote from the movie:

Girl: You can choose any piece of chicken you want, like a breast or thigh or wing.

Waiter: What can I get for you?

Caveman: Two faces.

Okay, it was a lot funnier at the time.

What the Deaf Man Heard

This movie starts with a boy who is traveling with his mom on a bus. At a stop, she gets up to get something but tells him to stay there and not say a word until she gets back. When she leaves the bus, she is murdered and the boy continues on the journey alone. True to his promise, he never says a word. He is adopted by the town the bus route ends in and they all believe he is deaf and dumb because he never speaks. At the end of the movie when he is an adult, he is called to testify in court, finally speaks and some big case is solved with his testimony and the town is shocked that he can talk.

Ridiculous, yes?

That’s why it was a made-for-TV movie.

Babes in Toyland

This is a Christmas movie from the early sixties and I don’t remember much about it, except that we used to watch it at Christmas when I was really little. I think there is something about a bad guy (Barnaby, maybe?) who wants to marry Mary Quite Contrary, and there are all sorts of nursery rhyme characters, and a kidnapping, and I think they end up at a toymaker’s factory.

If I could find this movie again, I would love to watch it. If anyone else has heard of it and knows where I can find it, tell me. It is one that kind of dropped off the radar and I have never found again. It’s a childhood memory I’d like to relive.

Am I the only one to see any of these movies?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not Quite Oscar Worthy

  1. Katie says:

    1. I am interested in seeing that Hugh Grant movie. Do you own it?
    2. I saw that deaf movie on TV a long long time ago, I think, because it sounds sooooo familiar.
    3. Netflix has Babes in Toyland, I rented it last Christmas, but never watched it because it just looked too weird.

    Like

  2. Courtney says:

    I used to watch Babes in Toyland every Christmas. I loved it! And the other ones just sound… great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

