A Total Ellipse of the Heart

I’m not a terribly competitive person. No one in my family is. My brother-in-law, LaTiDo, actually makes fun of us because when we play games, we play until everyone wins. My family must have just gotten a few extra sleep genes and no competition ones.

In high school, my tennis coach would always tell me I had to want to win. The thing is, I didn’t. I mean, it was nice if I did, but I felt sorry for the losers when I won, and when it came down to it, it didn’t matter if I won or lost. I am terrible at games and sports because I guess I just can’t put my heart into it. But, I still have a lot of fun with them, all the same.

Lately, when I go to the gym, I start off with a nice workout on the elliptical before I do weight lifting. Besides a short fling I had with running in high school, I’ve always hated cardio type exercise. Lately though, I’ve gotten a little addicted to the elliptical. I don’t know if it actually builds your endurance or does anything for you, but I love it.

It has brought out my competitive spirit.  I get a little too into it. I turn on my iPod (at a dangerously high volume), push the resistance up, and GO. I’ll push myself, to see if I can burn 5 more calories this minute than the last, if I can finish this mile before the song is over, how long I can go on the highest resistance, etc. It is reeeeeeeealy fun. I guess I am only competitive when I am beating myself.

If only I could find outfits like these. Then I’d be fully ready to hit the gym.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

