On the Range

I went to Colorado this weekend and it was the most glorious visit home I have had since I moved out. It was fantastic. I spent the weekend with most of my family (minus Celtic. Ohio is just too far away) plus a set of grandparents, an aunt, and a cousin, which was an unexpected surprise.
I remembered how terribly wonderful home it: my bed, my shower, the piano, the green, the mountains, our beautiful yard, our dog…it was perfect.

Highlights of the weekend :
-playing Beatles RockBand with Che and Dumples. The Wii is a new edition to our house, and I am a fan. I make a great Paul McCartney.
-seeing the Flatirons and enjoying the Colorado mountains (which, in all honesty, put Utah to shame).
-painting my nails and watching Sense and Sensibility with Mama.
-raiding my bookshelves and bringing home 50 pounds of books that I forgot I had and now can’t live without.
-Eating! There is always so much good food there. And I didn’t have to cook any of it.
-playing the piano.
-taking a nap outside until I was so hot, I had to go inside and sleep by the swamp cooler. Winter is gone!
-hearing my parents speak in church
-learning family secrets: my great-grandparents were much more interesting than I ever gave them credit for.
-laughing: my family should be a sitcom. We’re funny. Favorite quote of the weekend: “Do you think you can get arrested for bathing on the roof?”
-finding my dictator roots. Apparently, when I was in 6th grade, one of my teachers told Mama at parent-teacher conferences that I was trying to usurp his power. Either he was overly-insecure, or I was a powerful 11 year old.
-seeing old friends.
-teasing Princess.
-finding my Chairman Mao Zedong matruska doll I got in Russia.
-not doing homework. And not caring that I wasn’t doing it.
-singing Ben Folds and Regina Spektor at the top of my lungs with Dumples.

It almost made me want to move back. But not.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Range

  1. Carol Ann says:

    You're amazing!!!!Dad

    Like

  2. Maren Kate says:

    I believe the comment was "Do you think you could get arrested for air bathing on the roof?"

    Like

Leave a Reply

