List-en Up

Such a creative title, I know.
I recently decided that making lists is one of my favorite pasttimes. I do it a lot in my mind when I get bored. So, I’ve decided to post some of my lists as blogs for your reading pleasure.

This week’s list – The Greatest American Writers.
In my own personal opinion, of course. I started talking about this with a friend a few days ago so I’ve been refining it and here’s what I came up with. As a disclaimer, I say this. Thanks to the “egdy” literature I was forced to read in high school, many of the classics were neglected. I admit that my opinion isn’t completely valid because I haven’t read a lot of staples but here’s my best.

Harper Lee – To Kill a Mockingbird. Easily one of  my favorite books. I like that she is able to write a book from a child’s perspective without making it a juvenile novel. Plus, who doesn’t love Atticus?
F. Scott Fitzgerald – Surprisingly, I loved The Great Gatsby. I tend to hate a lot of literature because I am a happy ending kind of person. I mean, does a book have to be depressing to make it a classic? Yet, I still enjoyed this book. Good job, Scotty.
O. Henry – From Gift of the Magi and The Last Leaf to After Twenty Years, he wins the short story award without any real competition. Really, does anyone ever see his endings coming? He’s great.
Theodore Geisel (Dr. Suess) – I mean this in ALL seriousness. He’s got some serious talent. Who else could ever hope to make up the words he does and have them all fit into his incredibly rigid rhyme scheme? Plus, he wrote Cat in the Hat with less than 100 words. I’d like to see anyone else try to write a book of that caliber with those restrictions.
Mark Twain – Good ol’ Sam. He’s hilarious. I think we would have gotten along swimmingly, were we alive at the same time. I think I’d like to be his best friend, no matter what jabs he gave to Jane Austen. I can forgive him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

