The Church is Still True…

For those of you that had forgotten, I guess.
And here’s what sparked that little revelation.
I have no money. I don’t spend a ton yet at one point this week, I realized that if the management company cashed my check for rent this month, it would bounce. That was a low point.
Also, my grades have tanked this semester. I don’t have a valid reason for it, except that they are looking to be lower as a whole than any other semester I’ve had.
I studied for hours for this Physical Science test this week. I spent about half of my time this week in the TA lab. I went and took the test and came out thinking, “I’m not going to let myself get my hopes up but I’m pretty sure I might get a 100% on this test. I kicked its trash.”
Needless to say, I was shocked when I looked at my score and discovered I got a measly 69%. A D? REALLY?
I hoddeled home like a 90 year old arthritic woman.
So, by the end of this week, I was feeling a little bit like trash. Fortunately, I had some really fun Friday night plans. When I got home at 1:30 am, I didn’t want to read my scriptures. I just wanted to sink into the soft comfort of my bed and forget this week ever happened.
But, I decided that not reading my scriptures was not going to help anything. I pulled them out and picked up my reading in Jacob 4 when I stumbled upon this jewel of a verse (7):
“Nevertheless, the Lord God showeth us our weakness that we may know that it is by his grace, and his great condescensions unto the children of men, that we have power to do these things. “
For some reason, this was exactly what I needed to hear. I may not be doing so hot in school, or have ten cents to my name but through the Atonement and the love and power of God, I can do things. Maybe Physical Science isn’t one of those things, but that doesn’t really matter.
I am so grateful for this gospel. I love it more than I could ever hope to express. I love my Heavenly Father and His Son and I am so very glad that when all else fails, They will be there, still loving me, as imperfect as I am.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Church is Still True…

  1. Leisa says:

    I love you Jesslyn!!

    Like

  2. Courtney says:

    Jesslyn, Thank you for your testimony. I am so proud to call you my best friend.

    Like

  3. Dionne says:

    I miss you Jesslyn!

    Like

Leave a Reply

