You Ought to Give Ohio A Try!

Okay, so that’s not really how the song goes. Celtic and LaTi Do and I were trying to list all of the songs that were about/mentioned certain states the other day and we couldn’t come up with anything for Ohio. So, I borrowed the Iowa song.

Here’s what I’ve learned in my eastern United States travels:
-Cornhole is a kind of fun and ridiculous Cincinnati game, best played when one is very, very drunk (That’s what I was told. I haven’t tried it drunk).
-Kentucky was part of the Confederacy (I know I really should have known this).
-Ikea is the closest thing to heaven on this earth. Those Swedes know their stuff.
-Cincinnati is spelled C-I-N-C-I-N-N-A-T-I, not C-I-N-C-I-N-A-T-T-I.
Also, I’ve always wanted to live on the east coast. Especially Virginia. Don’t ask me why. I love all the trees. But, I’ve learned I can’t stand the humidity. Celtic and I went to the museum today and it rained while we were inside. When we came out, it was so humid, I seriously felt like I was choking. How do people breathe here? I don’t know about these crazy easterners, but when I inhale, I like to breathe air, not water.
Anyway, here are some of the highlights of the trip:
Sunday, we went to Laurenceburg, Indiana, so we could mark Indiana off the the states we have visited. It was kind of a silly town that wanted to make itself look big and important and touristy. Like having big statues of firemen and babies, apparently. They also have a fake ski-area. On their website, they were audacious enough to say, “Who needs Colorado?” Yeah, well, we have real snow. Take that, Indiana!
Saturday, we went to “A Taste Of Cincinnati.” It was like a street fair with lots of different tents of food from local restaraunts. It was really good. We had German bratwurst, greek pita, hummus, and falafel, catfish and french fries, fried pickles, and a corned beef sandwich (don’t worry. We shared. I don’t think any of us could have eaten that alone). Poor Ella stayed in the stroller and tried not to die of heatstoke. To reward her patience, and to revive her withering soul, Celtic let her play in a fountain in a little square. She got a little too into it and got soaking wet. But, hey, at least she wasn’t hot anymore, right?
This, I guess, is another of Laurenceburg’s claims to fame. A dead president stopped “near” here for a rest break on his way to somewhere of real importance. I’m a little bitter about that Colorado crack. Also, there was a smudge on Celtic’s camera. I am not vanishing into nothingness.

 

 

 

 

Ella’s new favorite thing is to pick flowers (aka dandelions and clovers). You can’t get her to stop and she cries when she has to put the down. I think this picture was probably caught in the middle of her rendition of Mary Had A Little Lamb which goes something like this: Dumples had a little Leisa, Grammy, Papa, la, da, da….
So, that was my trip. It was really fun. I love visiting them.
Also, here is my plan that I came up with with Celtic. Celtic and LaTiDo are already here in Cincinnati, Dumples will move here when she graduates, Mama and Papa will find him a job in DC, and I will move to Virginia eventually. I haven’t figured out how we can get Che out here. But I still have a while to figure that one out. Good idea, eh?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

